The Macon Housing Authority is governed by a Board of Commissioners consisting of six members who serve for five-year terms. By a special act of the legislature, one of the Commissioners is a public housing resident. All Commissioners serve without pay. Employees of the City of Macon or the Authority are not eligible for appointment.

Commissioners are nominated by Macon-Bibb County's Mayor and confirmed by Macon-Bibb County Council, a historical practice followed by the Mayor and Macon-Bibb County Council since 1938. Officers are elected by the Board of Commissioners each year at the January meeting.

The MHA Board of Commissioners meets on the second Thursday of each month at 4:00 p.m. at the Authority’s Central Office located at 2015 Felton Avenue. MHA Chief Executive Officer, Mike Austin, serves as Secretary of the Board of Commissioners, but has no vote on policy matters. Meetings are open to the public.

Board of Commissioners

Pearlie Toliver - ChairPearlie Toliver
Dr. Melinda Robinson-Moffett -Vice ChairDr. Melinda Robinson-Moffett
Vice Chair
Joann Fowler - Resident CommissionerJoAnn Fowler
Resident Commissioner
Jeff Battcher - CommissionerJeff Battcher
Eric Manson - CommissionerEric Manson
John Walker, III - CommissionerJohn Walker, III

Executive Staff

Department Staff Member
Chief Executive Officer Mike Austin
Executive Assistant Brenda Shivers
Chief Financal Officer Suyon Haugabrook
Chief Operating Officer Michael Colbert
Special Programs Director Kathleen Mathews
Facilities Management Director Drew Massee
Human Resources Director Janita Hickenbotham